We stand with Black Lives Matter and those protesting for equality and reform. We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

For the list of support and relief funds previously posted here see this blog post.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Horror Book Club (Remote)

January 28 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

$15 – $25
Online, N/A, Portland, OR 97207

TO ATTEND:

1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop. If you already own the book you may purchase a gift certificate or sponsor a stack for $15 or $25 dollars depending on if the book club book is paperback or hardcover.

2) Email us after your purchase that you plan on attending and we’ll provide the password.

The Books Around the Corner Horror Book Club is led by the owner/librarian, Stephanie Rose, and meets monthly on the fourth Thursday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our horror loving customers .

Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers.

Our first pick of 2021 is It Will Just Be Us by Jo Kaplan and we will meet on Thursday January 28th at 6:30pm.

About the book:
A terrifying new gothic horror novel about two sisters and a haunted house that never sleeps, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

They say there’s a door in Wakefield that never opens… Sam Wakefield’s ancestral home, a decaying mansion built on the edge of a swamp, isn’t a place for children. Its labyrinthine halls, built by her mad ancestors, are filled with echoes of the past: ghosts and memories knotted together as one. In the presence of phantoms, it’s all Sam can do to disentangle past from present in her daily life. But when her pregnant sister Elizabeth moves in after a fight with her husband, something in the house shifts. Already navigating her tumultuous relationship with Elizabeth, Sam is even more unsettled by the appearance of a new ghost: a faceless boy who commits disturbing acts–threatening animals, terrorizing other children, and following Sam into the depths of the house wielding a knife. When it becomes clear the boy is connected to a locked, forgotten room, one which is never entered, Sam realizes this ghost is not like the others. This boy brings doom… As Elizabeth’s due date approaches, Sam must unravel the mysteries of Wakefield before her sister brings new life into a house marked by death. But as the faceless boy grows stronger, Sam will learn that some doors should stay closed–and some secrets are safer locked away forever.

REMOTE INSTRUCTIONS

Join online!
https://zoom.us/j/306490858
Meeting ID: 306 490 858

OR

Join by phone
(301) 715-8592

PREVIOUS BOOK CLUB PICKS
NOS4A2 by Joe Hill
Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky
House of Leaves by Mark Danielewski
Summer of Night by Dan Simmons
Tales in Sombre Tones by Sean Walter
The Institute by Stephen King
Ghost Story by Peter Straub
Twelve Nights at Rotter House by J. W Ocker
The Exorcist by Peter Blatty
The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampire by Grady Hendrix
The Cabin at the End of the World by Paul Tremblay
The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones
The Living Dead by George Romero and Daniel Kraus
Kill Creek by Scott Thomas
If It Bleeds by Stephen King

Venue

Online
N/A
Portland, OR 97207

Organizer

Books Around the Corner
Phone:
503-489-8804
Website:
http://www.booksaroundthecorner.com