We are against hate which targets continually marginalized people, no matter if they are Asian, Asian-American, Pacific Islanders, Black, Indigenous, people of color, and LGBTQ+ identifying. We support movements for reform, protest, and equality. A collection of resources and organizations working toward these efforts, and those which offer support, can be found here.

We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

An additional list of support and relief funds can be found here.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Literally Crawling 2021 – A Virtual Lit-Crawl

November 5 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

$7 – $14
Online, N/A, Portland, OR 97207

Working to find ways to bring writing and literature to everyone during the pandemic, zines + things (Portland, OR) and Death Rattle Writers Fest (Nampa, Idaho) have joined together to create Literally Crawling, an entirely online lit crawl planned for November 5, 6, and 7 2021.

Co-Hosting literature showcases will be lit-journals Cobra Milk and Ginger Bug Press.

Save the date and RSVP to get reader announcement updates! We can’t wait to get together for a lovely weekend of sharing the literary arts from some truly amazing artists.

Register to attend here:
https://www.crowdcast.io/e/literally-crawling-2021/register

4 Literature showcases and a writing workshop!

Nov 5 – Friday : zines + things & DRWF Opening Showcase
6pm PST / 7pm MST / 8pm CST / 9pm EST

Nov 6 – Saturday : zines + things & Ginger Bug Press
At 4PM PST / 5PM MST / 6PM CST / 7PM EST

Nov 6 – Saturday : DRWF & Cobra Milk
6pm PST / 7pm MST / 8 pm CST / 9pm EST

Nov 7 – Sunday : Literally Crawling Workshop – *MIND MAPPING* (intuitive poetry comics in private) with Mara Ramirez
3:30pm PST/ 4:30pm MST/ 5:30pm CST/ 6:30pm EST
Register to attend workshop here:
https://bit.ly/3luv0cq

Nov 7 – Sunday : Z&T + DRWF Closing Showcase
5pm PST / 6pm MST / 7 pm CST / 8pm EST

Attendees can register in advance of the show at zinesandthings.com to receive email reminders and show updates. A $7-$14 donation is suggested (though nobody will be turned away due to lack of funds), with proceeds after costs benefiting the writers and artists who will be sharing their work at the fest. Audience members will also be able to tip performers during the show to provide direct payments to the artists.

We look at adapting our programming to be completely online as a wonderful chance to foster new communities of writers and artists alongside our local literary arts community in a way that we can create some dream line-ups in ways that inspiring, new, and uplifting as we all find ways to keep working and connecting with each other.

To enable the most accurate closed captioning if desired during the event; Use Crowdcast in a Google Chrome browser. Info on how to do that here:https://docs.crowdcast.io/en/articles/3967814-how-can-i-include-closed-captions

Literally Crawling is generously supported by @upsweptcreative
@heartroasters @dovevivipizza
@prismmoves and the Idaho Humanities Council.

About zines+things

zine+things is a literary zine press based out of Portland, OR founded by Rebekah Markillie. Their most recently published work includes King of the Interstate and We Have Each Other’s Flowers by Adrienne Novy, now in its second print-run. zines+things hosts the literary reading series “Tell Me A Story” and a wide suite of publishing and print services for aspiring and established zinesters and organizations. To learn more about zines+things, please visit zinesandthings.com. Follow zines+things on Instagram @zinesandthings.

About Death Rattle Writers Festival

Death Rattle Writers Festival is a non-profit organization working out of Nampa, Idaho that is dedicated to providing public platforms to underserved Idaho and Treasure Valley writers by providing the public with free access to quality literary programming throughout the year by fostering an accessible community for those that do not have traditional outlets available for the improvement and presentation of their literary arts; all culminating in an annual literary festival.

Death Rattle’s yearly programming focuses on the tri-annual publication of Oroboro, an online literary magazine focused on providing a first publishing opportunity to regional poets and artists; the Penrose Poetry Prize, Oroboro’s poetry contest bringing in esteemed guest judges and awarding cash prizes for excellence in poetry by LGBTQIA+ poets; The Spill, bi-monthly, open-mic live story-telling events with a featured writer and theme; quarterly educational workshops for adults and children, and multiple live readings with nationally recognized keynote poets alongside established and emerging local artists.

Learn more about Death Rattle’s mission and upcoming events and publications at www.deathrattlewritersfest.org and follow on instagram @death_rattle_writers_fest.

About Ginger Bug Press:

Ginger Bug Press is a micropublishing project based in Boston, looking to print zines, words, drawings, ephemera, and get them all into your hands. Founded in October of 2020, Ginger Bug was created on the belief that publishing should be radically accessible, and radically transparent. We believe in art that’s fermented: art that takes time and care and is a little (or a lot) funky. We want to print your weirdest.

About Cobra Milk:

​​Cobra Milk is an inclusive literary and arts journal that invites you to get weird, get vulnerable,
​and get at us with the work you want to bring into the world. ​

Founded in 2020 by Erin Mizrahi (poet, Scorpio) and Johnny Rezvani (musician, Virgo). We are the co-founders and hosts of the Cobra Milk Reading Series and love the creative community so much, ​we created another platform to celebrate the work of artists, writers, and musicians.

Venue

Online
N/A
Portland, OR 97207

Organizer

Zines + Things
Email:
rebekah@zinesandthings.com
Website:
https://www.zinesandthings.com