We are against hate which targets continually marginalized people, no matter if they are Asian, Asian-American, Pacific Islanders, Black, Indigenous, people of color, and LGBTQ+ identifying. We support movements for reform, protest, and equality. A collection of resources and organizations working toward these efforts, and those which offer support, can be found here.

We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

An additional list of support and relief funds can be found here.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

Events for May 1, 2021

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

10:00 am

Looking Back to Look Forward: A Daily Writing Practice

May 1 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
$240

This class will help you adopt crucial creative habits using your memory of the past to build a practice for the future. Using a series of daily in-class and at-home prompts that focus on ideas of home, trek childhood, and position memory as present, you will generate new work and use research-based ways to bring a sustainable practice into your life. Everyone will have opportunities to give and receive generous feedback on the development of your practice, as well as on your writing. We will pay particular attention to the voice and structure of new work and engage with the common themes that arise out of these prompts: the grief of all families, the complicated solipsism of children, and the way language gives new meaning…

Find out more »

7:00 pm

Portland Storytellers’ Guild: ROAD – TESTED !!!

May 1 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
$10

Three Veteran Guild Members (Anne Louise Sterry, Chetter Galloway and Will Hornyak) reprise crowd favorites for a rollicking evening of stories, songs and poems.   An evening to remember from some of the Guild’s favorites. Join us for a fun frolic with old friends and wonderful tales. A virtual evening of stories Saturday, May 1 at 7pm PDT / 8pm MDT / 9pm CDT / 10pm EDT / 6pm AKDT. Register here -- only $10 per computer connection; as many can watch as is socially-distanced-safe. Remember – the evening will be recorded; all registrants will get a link the day after to watch the recording anytime in the following week. So don’t let the start time or a prior commitment stand in your way: The Guild…

Find out more »
+ Export Events