We stand with Black Lives Matter and those protesting for equality and reform. We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

For the list of support and relief funds previously posted here see this blog post.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

Events for September 29, 2020

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

6:00 pm

Dan Mathews in Conversation With Alex Ebert

September 29 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
Free

Dan Mathews knew that his witty, bawdy, unhinged mother, Perry, was unable to maintain her fierce independence at 78 — so he flew her across the country to Virginia to live with him in an 1870 townhouse badly in need of repairs. But to Dan, a screwdriver is a cocktail not a tool, and he was soon overwhelmed with two fixer-uppers: the house and his mother. Unbowed, Dan and Perry built a rollicking life together fueled by costume parties, road trips, after-hours gatherings, and an unshakable sense of humor as they faced down hurricanes, blizzards, and Perry’s steady decline. They got by with the help of an ever-expanding circle of sidekicks — Dan’s boyfriends (past and present), ex-cons, sailors, strippers, deaf hillbillies, evangelicals, and grumpy…

Find out more »

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

September 29 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
Free

The Young Adult Book Club meets the last Tuesdays of every month at 6pm. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. You don't have to RSVP, just come and enjoy a lively discussion. We welcome both teens and adults to join this book club! Join us on September 29th for our next Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver. About the Book: Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.…

Find out more »

6:30 pm

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club September

September 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
Free

For September, we will be reading a book from local publisher Tin House, Who Is Vera Kelly by Rosalie Knecht. To order: https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9781947793019?fbclid=IwAR2E1vek7hhDMNmvvXIOiN0BkUIlJQJuotrkbUEOHIlL-4iefHnmyA3jsn0 Description: New York City, 1962. Vera Kelly is struggling to make rent and blend into the underground gay scene in Greenwich Village. She's working night shifts at a radio station when her quick wits, sharp tongue, and technical skills get her noticed by a recruiter for the CIA. Next thing she knows she's in Argentina, tasked with wiretapping a congressman and infiltrating a group of student activists in Buenos Aires. As Vera becomes more and more enmeshed with the young radicals, the fragile local government begins to split at the seams. When a betrayal leaves her stranded in the wake of a…

Find out more »

September Origami Workshop

September 29 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
Free

Come and fold with an IPRC member/volunteer & origami instructor/author, Yuki Martin on Zoom! You will need either origami paper*, or regular copy paper cut down to the dimensions of a square. All ages & skill levels are welcome. Materials needed: origami paper (6″x 6″) or copy paper cut down to those dimensions, and a cutting tool, if using copy paper. *Origami paper can be picked up at the IPRC. Coordinate with hquinn@iprc.org to pick origami paper up. Register here, and zoom link will be sent on the day of the workshop.

Find out more »

Teen Author Q&A and Writing Workshop with Aiden Thomas

September 29 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Online, N/A
Portland, OR 97207
Free

Teens, join Aiden Thomas, author of Cemetery Boys, for a Q&A and scary story writing workshop. Register/join via Zoom: https://multco-us.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJUpcu-urj8sHN28CgjrXNpTTRKtEj3s8uuJ Aiden Thomas is a YA author with an MFA in Creative Writing from Mills College. Originally from Oakland, California, they now make their home in Portland, OR. As a queer, trans Latinx, Aiden advocates strongly for diverse representation in all media. Aiden’s special talents include: quoting The Office, useless trivia, Jenga, finishing sentences with “is my FAVORITE”, and killing spiders. Aiden is notorious for not being able to guess the endings of books and movies, and organizes their bookshelves by color. Aiden's debut novel, CEMETERY BOYS, is a Dia de Muertos paranormal romance about Yadriel (a gay, trans brujo) who accidentally summons the wrong ghost…

Find out more »
+ Export Events