For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

Events for October 15, 2019

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

6:00 pm

Portland Correspondence Co-op

October 15 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
IPRC, 318 SE Main Street #175
Portland, OR 97214
+ Google Map
Free

PDXCC is a monthly gathering where participants make and share analog correspondence in the great mail art tradition of Ray Johnson and Anna Banana: art and conversation through the mail. This uniquely democratic, DIY art form incorporates writing, drawing, collage, rubber stamps, faux postage, decorative tape, typewriters – anything goes, as long as it goes through the mail. Hang out, skill share and send the glorious results through the mail. Monthly events hosted by the Portland chapter of the Correspondence Co-op and Niko Courtelis. Basic materials will be on hand (scissors, glue sticks, envelopes’85), but you’re encouraged to bring whatever materials fuel your creative spirit. Free and open to the public, every third Tuesday of the month.

Find out more »

6:30 pm

Powell’s Books Presents: ZADIE SMITH

October 15 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Revolution Hall, 1300 SE Stark St
Portland, OR 97214
+ Google Map
$37

Zadie Smith has established herself as one of the most iconic, critically respected, and popular writers of her generation. The author of five novels, including the award-winning White Teeth and On Beauty, as well as two collections of essays, Smith was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2002, and was listed as one of Granta's 20 Best Young British Novelists in 2003 and again in 2013. In her first short story collection, Grand Union, Smith combines her power of observation and her inimitable voice to mine the fraught and complex experience of life in the modern world. Interweaving 11 completely new and unpublished stories with some of her best-loved pieces from The New Yorker and elsewhere, Smith presents a dizzyingly rich…

Find out more »

An Evening With Lawrence Lanahan

October 15 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
PSU – Smith Memorial Student Union, 1825 SW Broadway
Portland, OR 97201
+ Google Map
Free

Author Lawrence Lanahan discusses The Lines Between Us: Two Families and a Quest to Cross Baltimore’s Racial Divide, a narrative chronicle of segregation and inequality in Freddie Gray’s Baltimore. In an era when politics are pushing Americans apart, Lawrence offers a sobering and thought-provoking reflection on how America might dismantle structural racism and white supremacy. OCTOBER 15, 2019  |  6:30PM Smith Memorial Student Union, Room 294 1825 SW Broadway  Portland, OR 97201 FREE ADMISSION The Lines Between Us is a riveting narrative that compels reflection on America’s entrenched inequality—and on where the rubber meets the road not in the abstract, but in our own backyards. Taking readers from church sermons to community meetings to public hearings to protests to the Supreme Court to the death…

Find out more »

7:00 pm

Reading: Maureen Shaughnessy: The Scent of Buenos Aires

October 15 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Annie Bloom’s Books, 7834 SW Capitol Hwy
Portland, OR 97219
+ Google Map
Free

Annie Bloom's welcomes Maureen Shaughnessy, translator of The Scent of Buenos Aires: Stories, by Hebe Uhart. The Scent of Buenos Aires offers the first book-length English translation of Uhart's work, drawing together her best vignettes of quotidian life: moments at the zoo, the hair salon, or a cacophonous homeowners association meeting. She writes in unconventional, understated syntax, constructing a delightfully specific perspective on life in South America. These stories are marked by sharp humor and wit: discreet and subtle, yet filled with eccentric and insightful characters. Uhart's narrators pose endearing questions about their lives and environments - one asks "Bees - do you know how industrious they are?" while another inquires, "Are we perhaps going to hell in a hand basket?" Maureen Shaughnessy's translations from…

Find out more »

Sean Walter | Reading and Signing

October 15 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Books Around the Corner, 40 NW 2nd Street
Gresham, OR 97030
+ Google Map
Free

Join us for a spooky evening with local author, Sean Walter, including a reading and signing. Information available below and get your copy ahead of time and join us in September for our Horror Book Club featuring Tales in Sombre Tones. ABOUT THE BOOK Lock the doors, close the blinds and settle in with this anthology of illustrated horror stories. Velvet dark imagery leads you into haunting tales that will stay with you long after the lights have gone out. Drawing on folklore and nightmares, exploring modern versions of classic stories and bringing original, inventive new horrors, this is a collection that takes the reader on a stunning journey into the world just behind the shadows. ABOUT THE AUTHOR Sean Walter lives on the west…

Find out more »

Rosiee Thor in Conversation With Linsey Miller

October 15 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Powell’s Books at Cedar Hills Crossing, 3415 SW Cedar Hills Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97005
+ Google Map
Free

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher's chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog – donning the moniker Technician – to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner's tyrannical laws. The Lunar Chronicles meets The Rook in Rosiee Thor’s Tarnished Are the Stars (Scholastic), a queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Thor will be joined in conversation by Linsey Miller, author of Mask of Shadows.

Find out more »

The Moth: StorySLAM: Fraud

October 15 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Holocene, 1001 SE Morrison St
Portland, OR 97214
+ Google Map
$25

FRAUD: Prepare a five-minute story about fakes, liars, and hustlers. Tell us about a time when you felt like a phony or a sham. A moment where you struggled with impostor syndrome? Exposed a con? Catch Me If You Can or fake it 'til you make it. This venue is 21+ *Tickets for this event are available one week before the show, at 12pm PT / 3pm ET. *Seating is not guaranteed and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Please be sure to arrive at least 10 minutes before the show. Admission is not guaranteed for late arrivals. All sales final. * It has been four years since we last raised SLAM ticket prices; we are doing so for 2019 in order to keep up with…

Find out more »

7:30 pm

Flynn Coleman

October 15 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Powell’s City of Books, 1005 W Burnside Street
Portland, OR 97209
+ Google Map
Free

The Age of Intelligent Machines is upon us, and we are at a reflection point. The proliferation of fast-moving technologies, including forms of artificial intelligence, will cause us to confront profound questions about ourselves. The era of human intellectual superiority is ending, and, as a species, we need to plan for this monumental shift. International human rights attorney Flynn Coleman’s A Human Algorithm (Counterpoint) examines the immense impact intelligent technology will have on humanity.

Find out more »

11:00 pm

X-Men #1 Midnight Release Party at Bridge City Comics!

October 15 @ 11:00 pm - October 16 @ 12:30 am
Bridge City Comics, 3725 N Mississippi Ave
Portland, OR 97227
+ Google Map
Free

Join us on Tuesday, October 15 starting at 11:00pm for our X-Men #1 Midnight Release party! We can’t sell any new releases until 12:01am but you can definitely get your stack ready! In addition to the regular cover, we’ll have a selection of almost all of the variant covers for X-Men #1 (but some will be in more limited quantities). Here’s what will be available: • X-MEN #1 ARTGERM VAR DX • X-MEN #1 BAGLEY EVERY MUTANT EVER VAR DX • X-MEN #1 BROOKS PARTY SKETCH DX • X-MEN #1 BROOKS PARTY VAR DX • X-MEN #1 CHECCHETTO YOUNG GUNS VAR DX • X-MEN #1 DAUTERMAN VAR DX • X-MEN #1 MULLER DESIGN VAR DX • X-MEN #1 PORTACIO VAR DX • X-MEN #1 YU…

Find out more »

11:30 pm

Midnight Release Party!

October 15 @ 11:30 pm - October 16 @ 12:30 am
Comic Cave PDX, 1924 N Kilpatrick St
Portland, OR 97217
+ Google Map
Free

Save the date for a Tuesday midnight (early) release party for the new X-men title and all the rest of that week's releases! We'll open before midnight but comic sales can't occur until then. More details to come as we get closer :). These are usually fun.

Find out more »
+ Export Events