Skip to content →

Tag: book club

Horror Book Club (REMOTE)

We will meet on Thursday October 28th at 6:30pm and discuss The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward. About the book: In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three. A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time. A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory. And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible. An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.     TO ATTEND: 1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop.…

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us Tuesday October 19th at 6:30pm for our Science Fiction Book Club. We will discuss Light from Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki. About the Book: Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in Ryka Aoki’s Light From Uncommon Stars, a defiantly joyful adventure set in California’s San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.   Shizuka Satomi made a deal with the devil: to escape damnation, she must entice seven other violin prodigies to trade their souls for success. She has already delivered six.   When Katrina Nguyen, a young transgender runaway, catches Shizuka’s ear with her wild talent, Shizuka can almost feel the curse lifting. She’s found her final candidate.   But in a donut shop…

Comments closed

Killer Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us for Killer Book Club. This book club features all things murder in fiction and nonfiction including mysteries, thrillers, horror, true crime and more. We will meet second Thursdays. Our October meeting of the Killer Book Club will be on Thursday October 14th at 6:30pm. We will discuss Halloween Fiend by C V Hunt. About the Book: Strang isn’t the small, quaint town it appears to be. It’s haunted every night by a creature the townsfolk refer to as Halloween. Once the sun sets each day, Halloween emerges to collect its treats: a small, live offering from each household. The residents comply because no one wants to be the target of Halloween’s tricks. But the nightmare of residing in Strang is nothing compared to the yearly ritual Halloween demands of the citizens…

Comments closed

Fantasy Book Club (REMOTE)

The Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club meets monthly on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our fantasy loving customers. Join us on Tuesday October 12th at 6:30pm for our Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club. We will discuss Star Eater by Kerstin Hall. About the book: All martyrdoms are difficult. Elfreda Raughn will avoid pregnancy if it kills her, and one way or another, it will kill her. Though she’s able to stomach her gruesome day-to-day duties, the reality of preserving the Sisterhood of Aytrium’s magical bloodline horrifies her. She wants out, whatever the cost. So when a shadowy faction approaches Elfreda with an offer of escape, she leaps at the opportunity. As their spy, she gains…

Comments closed

Cookbook Club (Remote)

BUY JUBILEE HERE We will be ordering books as orders come in and it shouldn’t be more than a few days before you receive notification that your book has arrived. Have you ever browsed through a new cookbook and thought how nice it would be to talk to other people who had tried some of those recipes? Now you can. Join us for the Fall gathering of the Cookbook Club on Tuesday, October 5, 2021 at 7:00 PM. Books Around the Corner owner Stephanie Rose will lead the discussion. Participants will choose a recipe from the cookbook and “share” it via from their homes. We’ll eat a delicious meal over Zoom, discuss the recipes we made, and what we liked or didn’t like about them. We…

Comments closed

Horror Book Club (REMOTE)

Book club will meet on Thursday September 23rd at 6:30pm and discuss Chasing the Boogeyman by Richard Chizmar. About the book: In the summer of 1988, the mutilated bodies of several missing girls begin to turn up in a small Maryland town. The grisly evidence leads police to the terrifying assumption that a serial killer is on the loose in the quiet suburb. But soon a rumor begins to spread that the evil stalking local teens is not entirely human. Law enforcement, as well as members of the FBI are certain that the killer is a living, breathing madman–and he’s playing games with them. For a once peaceful community trapped in the depths of paranoia and suspicion, it feels like a nightmare that will never…

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us September 21st at 6:30pm for our Science Fiction Book Club. We will discuss Firebreak by Nicole Kornher-Stace. About the Book: “Twenty minutes to power curfew, and my kill counter’s stalled at eight hundred eighty-seven while I’ve been standing here like an idiot. My health bar is flashing ominously, but I’m down to four heal patches, and I have to be smart.” New Liberty City, 2134. Two corporations have replaced the US, splitting the country’s remaining forty-five states (five have been submerged under the ocean) between them: Stellaxis Innovations and Greenleaf. There are nine supercities within the continental US, and New Liberty City is the only amalgamated city split between the two megacorps, and thus at a perpetual state of civil war as the…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club September

September Selection: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9780525620808 “Creepy and romantic, Mexican Gothic is easily one of my favorite books of 2020! Upon receiving a strange letter from her cousin, Noemi Taboada goes to investigate the happenings of High Place, a decaying manor filled with secrets, and is plagued by terrifying dreams and visions. Moreno-Garcia delivers a fresh take on a classic gothic novel that will grab your attention from the very first chapter!” — Tyrinne Lewis, Rakestraw Books, Danville, CA Check your email for the Zoom link!

Comments closed

Fantasy Book Club (REMOTE)

The Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club meets monthly on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our fantasy loving customers. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on September 14th at 6:30pm for our Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club. We will discuss Wendy, Darling by A C Wise. About the book: A lush, feminist re-imagining on what happened to Wendy after Neverland, for fans of Circe and The Mere Wife. Find the second…

Comments closed

Killer Book Club (Remote)

Join us for Killer Book Club. This book club features all things murder in fiction and nonfiction including mysteries, thrillers, horror, true crime and more. We will meet second Thursdays. Our September meeting of the Killer Book Club will be on September 9th at 6:30pm. We will discuss For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing. About the Book: Teddy Crutcher has won Teacher of the Year at the esteemed Belmont Academy, home to the best and brightest. He says his wife couldn’t be more proud–though no one has seen her in a while. Teddy really can’t be bothered with the death of a school parent that’s looking more and more like murder or the student digging a little too deep into Teddy’s personal life. His…

Comments closed