Skip to content →

Tag: book club

Horror Book Club (Remote)

We will meet on Thursday March 25th at 6:30pm and discuss Dead Lake by Darcy Coates. About the book: She’s battling artist’s block ahead of a major gallery exhibition. Staying at the lake house is her final, desperate attempt to paint the collection that could save her floundering career. It seems perfect: no neighbors, no phone, no distractions. But the dream retreat disintegrates into a nightmare when Sam sees a stranger by the lake. A tall, mysterious man stands on the edge of her dock, staring intently into the swirling waters below. He starts to follow her. He disables her car. He destroys her only way to communicate with the outside world. And something about the man seems… unnatural. Soon Sam suspects he’s responsible for…

Comments closed

Social Justice Book Club (Remote)

Join us Saturday March 20th at 6:30pm for Social Justice Book Club. Since March is Women’s History Month we will discuss Hood Feminism by Mikki Kendall. PAPERBACK RELEASE: 2/23/21 Preorder on our website. (If you do not want to wait until then please email us and we’ll order you the hardcover). Join us Saturday March 20th at 6:30pm for Social Justice Book Club to discuss Hood Feminism. Book club picks may not be currently in stock but will show that way so we can have an idea on how many to order. You will be contacted when your book is ready for pickup and provided the password to the book club as well. About the book: A potent and electrifying critique of today’s feminist movement…

Comments closed

Page Turner Book Club (Remote)

Join us on March 18th at 6:30PM for Page Turner Book Club. We will discuss Girl A by Abigail Dean. She thought she had escaped her past. But there are some things you can’t outrun. Lex Gracie doesn’t want to think about her family. She doesn’t want to think about growing up in her parents’ House of Horrors. And she doesn’t want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It’s been easy enough to avoid her parents–her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Join us on Wednesday March 17th at 6:30pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick is The Cold Vanish by Jon Billman. For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman’s fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace incidences, which…

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Club (Remote)

The Books Around the Corner Science Fiction Book Club meets monthly on the third Tuesday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our science fiction loving customers. Join us March 16th for our Books Around the Corner Science Fiction Book Club. We will discuss our first graphic novel for this group On A Sunbeam by Tillie Walden. About the Book: Two timelines. Second chances. One love. A ragtag crew travels to the deepest reaches of space, rebuilding beautiful, broken structures to piece the past together. Two girls meet in boarding school and fall deeply in love–only to learn the pain of loss. With interwoven timelines and stunning art, award-winning graphic novelist Tillie Walden creates an inventive world,…

Comments closed

Teen Graphic Novel Group

We are starting new teen graphic novel group. Our first discussion is on March 16 at 4 p.m. Contact Jamie McNeely at Jamie.mcneely@gmail.com for additional details and the Zoom invite.

Comments closed

Fantasy Book Club (Remote)

The Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club meets monthly on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our fantasy loving customers. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on Tuesday March 9th at 6:30pm for our Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club. We will discuss The Midnight Library by Matt Haig. About the book: A dazzling novel about all the choices that go into a life well lived, from the internationally bestselling author of Reasons…

Comments closed

Broadway Books Book Club Discussion

Join us for the first Broadway Books Book Club meeting of 2021 and our inaugural event celebrating our Year of Toni Morrison. We will be discussing the new, highly touted debut novel by Robert Jones, Jr., The Prophets. This event will take place on Zoom on March 9th at 6:00 pm Pacific Time. In honor of this discussion, we will be offering the book at a 20% discount until March 9th. The author’s lyrical, third-person writing style has been likened to the writings of Toni Morrison. In our discussion we will compare and contrast his new work to Morrison’s Beloved. Robert Jones, Jr., was born and raised in New York City. He received his BFA in creative writing with honors and MFA in fiction from…

Comments closed

Romance Book Club (Remote)

Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on March 4th 6:30pm for our Romance Book Club. We will discuss Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade About the book: Marcus Caster-Rupp has a secret: while the world knows him as Aeneas, the star of the biggest show on TV, he’s known to fanfiction readers as an anonymous and popular poster. Marcus is able to get out his own frustrations with his character through his stories, especially the ones that feature the Internet’s favorite couple, Aeneas and Lavinia. April Whittier has…

Comments closed

Horror Book Club (Remote)

We will discuss The Lesser Dead by Christopher Buehlman. About the book: The secret is, vampires are real and I am one. The secret is, I’m stealing from you what is most truly yours and I’m not sorry… New York City in 1978 is a dirty, dangerous place to live. And die. Joey Peacock knows this as well as anybody–he has spent the last forty years as an adolescent vampire, perfecting the routine he now enjoys: womanizing in punk clubs and discotheques, feeding by night, and sleeping by day with others of his kind in the macabre labyrinth under the city’s sidewalks. The subways are his playground and his highway, shuttling him throughout Manhattan to bleed the unsuspecting in the Sheep Meadow of Central Park…

Comments closed