Skip to content →

Tag: books around the corner

Cookbook Club (Remote)

BUY JUBILEE HERE We will be ordering books as orders come in and it shouldn’t be more than a few days before you receive notification that your book has arrived. Have you ever browsed through a new cookbook and thought how nice it would be to talk to other people who had tried some of those recipes? Now you can. Join us for the Fall gathering of the Cookbook Club on Tuesday, October 5, 2021 at 7:00 PM. Books Around the Corner owner Stephanie Rose will lead the discussion. Participants will choose a recipe from the cookbook and “share” it via from their homes. We’ll eat a delicious meal over Zoom, discuss the recipes we made, and what we liked or didn’t like about them. We…

Comments closed

Horror Book Club (REMOTE)

Book club will meet on Thursday September 23rd at 6:30pm and discuss Chasing the Boogeyman by Richard Chizmar. About the book: In the summer of 1988, the mutilated bodies of several missing girls begin to turn up in a small Maryland town. The grisly evidence leads police to the terrifying assumption that a serial killer is on the loose in the quiet suburb. But soon a rumor begins to spread that the evil stalking local teens is not entirely human. Law enforcement, as well as members of the FBI are certain that the killer is a living, breathing madman–and he’s playing games with them. For a once peaceful community trapped in the depths of paranoia and suspicion, it feels like a nightmare that will never…

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us September 21st at 6:30pm for our Science Fiction Book Club. We will discuss Firebreak by Nicole Kornher-Stace. About the Book: “Twenty minutes to power curfew, and my kill counter’s stalled at eight hundred eighty-seven while I’ve been standing here like an idiot. My health bar is flashing ominously, but I’m down to four heal patches, and I have to be smart.” New Liberty City, 2134. Two corporations have replaced the US, splitting the country’s remaining forty-five states (five have been submerged under the ocean) between them: Stellaxis Innovations and Greenleaf. There are nine supercities within the continental US, and New Liberty City is the only amalgamated city split between the two megacorps, and thus at a perpetual state of civil war as the…

Comments closed

Fantasy Book Club (REMOTE)

The Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club meets monthly on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30PM. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our fantasy loving customers. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on September 14th at 6:30pm for our Books Around the Corner Fantasy Book Club. We will discuss Wendy, Darling by A C Wise. About the book: A lush, feminist re-imagining on what happened to Wendy after Neverland, for fans of Circe and The Mere Wife. Find the second…

Comments closed

Killer Book Club (Remote)

Join us for Killer Book Club. This book club features all things murder in fiction and nonfiction including mysteries, thrillers, horror, true crime and more. We will meet second Thursdays. Our September meeting of the Killer Book Club will be on September 9th at 6:30pm. We will discuss For Your Own Good by Samantha Downing. About the Book: Teddy Crutcher has won Teacher of the Year at the esteemed Belmont Academy, home to the best and brightest. He says his wife couldn’t be more proud–though no one has seen her in a while. Teddy really can’t be bothered with the death of a school parent that’s looking more and more like murder or the student digging a little too deep into Teddy’s personal life. His…

Comments closed

Books Around The Corner: Virtual Writers Group

Join fellow writers the first Wednesday of the month for a friendly critique. The goal is to support one another with constructive feedback and participate in writing exercises. All experience levels welcome! Books Around the Corner is inviting you to participate in Writers Group by phone or email until further notice. The Meeting ID will not change monthly for the Writers Group. Join Online https://zoom.us/j/230496085 Meeting ID: 230 496 085 Join by Phone HERE +1 301 715 8592 US Meeting ID: 230 496 085

Comments closed

Horror Book Club (REMOTE)

We will meet on Thursday August 26th at 6:30pm and discuss Goblin by Josh Malerman. About the book: Goblin seems like any other ordinary small town. But with the master storyteller Josh Malerman as your tour guide, you’ll discover the secrets that hide behind its closed doors. These six novellas tell the story of a place where the rain is always falling, nighttime is always near, and your darkest fears and desires await. Welcome to Goblin. TO ATTEND: 1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop. If you already own the book you may purchase a gift certificate or sponsor a stack for $15 or $25 dollars depending on if the book club book is paperback or hardcover. 2) We will email you the Zoom link…

Comments closed

Live on Crowdcast! Becky Chambers, A Psalm for the Wild-Built, in conversation with Ryka Aoki, Light From Uncommon Stars

Books Around the Corner is thrilled to welcome Becky Chambers—author of the Hugo Award-winning Wayfarers novels—for the release of the first book in her new Monk & Robot series, A Psalm for the Wild-Built. She will be joined in conversation by Ryka Aoki, the author of the Light From Uncommon Stars which will be released September 28th. About A Psalm for the Wild-Built. . . Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers’s delightful new series gives us hope for the future. It’s been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend. One day, the life of a tea monk is…

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us Tuesday August 17th at 6:30pm for our Science Fiction Book Club. We will discuss A Psalm for the Wild-Built ( Monk & Robot, 1 ) by Becky Chambers. About the Book: In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers’s delightful new Monk & Robot series gives us hope for the future. It’s been centuries since the robots of Earth gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since they faded into myth and urban legend. One day, the life of a tea monk is upended by the arrival of a robot, there to honor the old promise of checking in. The robot cannot go back until the question…

Comments closed

No Shelf Control Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us for No Shelf Control Book Club. This book club features books from a wide range of genres including contemporary fiction, young adult, mysteries, thrillers, science fiction, fantasy, and more. We will meet second Thursdays. Our August meeting of the No Shelf Control Book Club will be on August 12th at 6:30pm. We will discuss Gold Spun by Brandie June. About the Book: If Nor can’t spin gold, she can always spin lies. When seventeen-year-old Nor rescues a captured faerie in the woods, he gifts her with a magical golden thread she can use to summon him for a favor. Instead, Nor uses it for a con-to convince villagers to buy straw that can be transformed into gold. Her trick works a little too well, attracting the suspicion of Prince Casper,…

Comments closed