Skip to content →

Tag: cedar hills

Classics Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin. Join us!

Comments closed

Stephen Chbosky

Twenty years ago, Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower made readers everywhere feel infinite. Now, Chbosky returns with Imaginary Friend (Grand Central), an epic work of literary horror, years in the making, about a young boy haunted by a voice in his head.

Comments closed

Christopher McDougall

Running With Sherman: The Donkey With the Heart of a Hero (Knopf) is the heartwarming story about training a rescue donkey to run one of the most challenging races in America, from Christopher McDougall, bestselling author of Born to Run.

Comments closed

Brent Weeks

In The Burning White (Orbit), the stunning conclusion to Brent Weeks’s epic Lightbringer series, kingdoms clash as Kip must finally escape his family’s shadow in order to protect the land and people he loves. As the White King springs his great trap, and the Chromeria itself is threatened by treason and siege, Kip Guile and his companions will scramble to return for one impossible final stand.

Comments closed

Jim Wallis

Writing in response to our current “constitutional crisis,” bestselling author and Christian activist Jim Wallis urges America to return to the tenets of Jesus once again as the means to save us from the polarizing bitterness and anger of our tribal nation. In Christ in Crisis (HarperOne), Wallis provides a path of spiritual healing and solidarity to help us heal the divide separating Americans today.

Comments closed

Oregon Battle of the Books Trivia

Test your OBOB knowledge in a fun and relaxed atmosphere! We will be playing trivia-based games featuring questions from this year’s 3-5 division OBOB reading list. Everyone is welcome to join in on the fun and get a little extra practice before the battles begin.

Comments closed

Westside Writing Group

A group for anyone writing nonfiction or memoir who would like company, support, and, most of all, accountability. Whether you’ve never written a word or you’re a published author, join us!

Comments closed

Atlas Obscura: An Explorer’s Guide to the World’s Hidden Wonders, 2nd Ed.

Praised as the “bestest travel guide ever” (Mary Roach) and “a joy to read and reread” (Neil Gaiman), Atlas Obscura (Workman) is a phenomenon of travel books. Now the best gets better and the weirdest gets weirder with a completely revised and updated second edition. Coauthor Ella Morton joins us to paint a rich panorama of what a marvelously strange world we live in.

Comments closed

Markus Zusak

Bridge of Clay (Knopf) is an unforgettable family saga from Markus Zusak, author of the extraordinary bestseller, The Book Thief. Bridge of Clay is the breathtaking story of five brothers who bring each other up in a world run by their own rules. As the Dunbar boys love and fight and learn to reckon with the adult world, they discover the moving secret behind their father’s disappearance.

Comments closed

Rosiee Thor in Conversation With Linsey Miller

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog – donning the moniker Technician – to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws. The Lunar Chronicles meets The Rook in Rosiee Thor’s Tarnished Are the Stars (Scholastic), a queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer. Thor will be joined in conversation by Linsey Miller, author of Mask of Shadows.

Comments closed