Skip to content →

Tag: cedar hills

Cancelled – The League of Exceptional Writers

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] In “Crafting Awesome: The Art of Character Creation,” author and illustrator Brian W. Parker explains his process for creating powerful, diverse, and interesting characters through illustration and world-building. Hosted by Rosanne Parry, the League of Exceptional Writers is…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Jody J. Little

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] Hoping to ditch two months of chicken coops, kale, and her parents’ anti-screen rules, Mac sets out to win a citywide food cart scavenger hunt and the money she needs for the summer coding camp of her dreams.…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Sarah Kozloff

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] Debut author Sarah Kozloff offers a breathtaking and cinematic epic fantasy in the vein of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Erika Johansen’s The Queen of the Tearling. Orphaned, exiled, and hunted, Cerulia, Princess of Weirandale, must master the magic…

Comments closed

Deadly Diversions Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss Ngaio Marsh’s Inspector Alleyn mystery series. Join us!

Comments closed

Anne Bishop

Return to the dark, sensual, and powerful world of the Black Jewels in The Queen’s Bargain (Ace), Anne Bishop’s long-awaited new story in the bestselling fantasy saga. As Jillian rides the winds of first love with Dillon, Daemon and Surreal struggle to survive the wounds of a marriage turned stormy – and Lucivar has to find a way to keep everyone in his family safe… even from each other.

Comments closed

Science Fiction Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. Join us!

Comments closed

John Straley

From the wild and wonderful mind of Shamus Award-winning author John Straley comes What Is Time to a Pig? (Soho Crime), a poetic masterpiece that explores the ugly truths of the prison industrial complex, the crumbling state of humanity, the role memory plays in the formation of the self, and much more. What Is Time to a Pig? is the third book in Straley’s Cold Storage crime series.

Comments closed

Westside Writing Group

A group for anyone writing nonfiction or memoir who would like company, support, and, most of all, accountability. Whether you’ve never written a word or you’re a published author, join us!

Comments closed

Phil & Kaja Foglio

In Phil and Kaja Foglio’s Agatha H. and the Siege of Mechanicsburg (Night Shade), Agatha Heterodyne has returned to her family’s hereditary town with the might of the Wulfenbach Empire hot on her heels. Now she must race to repair the mechanisms that once allowed the Castle to defend Mechanicsburg, before the rest of Europa shows up to take all the revenge the mad Heterodynes of the past so richly earned. From the Hugo Award–winning Girl Genius online comics comes this fourth book in the Agatha H. series – engaging you in a world of adventure, romance, and mad science!

Comments closed

E. Latimer in Conversation With Cat Winters

In E. Latimer’s Witches of Ash and Ruin (Little, Brown), modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods – perfect for fans of V. E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy. With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology that’s impossible to put down. Latimer will be joined in conversation by Cat Winters, author of In the Shadow of Blackbirds and The Raven’s Tale.

Comments closed