Skip to content →

Tag: conversation

Powell’s Books Presents Rebecca Solnit in Conversation With Cheryl Strayed – SOLD OUT

This Event is All Ages and Reserved Seating. ALL SALES ARE FINAL. PLEASE, DOUBLE CHECK YOUR ORDER BEFORE PURCHASING. NO REFUNDS. TO ACCESS PRESALE TICKETS, CLICK ON “TICKETS” AND ENTER THE PASSWORD ON “ENTER PROMO CODE” An Evening With the Author of Men Explain Things to Me Renowned feminist writer Rebecca Solnit has been writing important, acclaimed, prize-winning books for years. Her 2014 essay collection, Men Explain Things to Me, won her an ardent readership among a new generation of young women readers who found a welcome touchstone in Solnit’s articulation of the female experience. Solnit’s new memoir, Recollections of My Nonexistence, offers an electric portrait of the artist as a young woman — and asks how a writer finds her voice in a society…

Comments closed

JP Gritton in Conversation With Mat Johnson

A cross between Daniel Woodrell and Annie Proulx, JP Gritton’s Wyoming (Tin House) is about the stubborn grip of inertia and whether or not it is possible to live without accepting oneself. It’s 1988 and Shelley Cooper is in trouble. He’s broke, he’s been fired from his construction job, and his ex-wife has left him for their next-door neighbor and a new life in Kansas City. The only opportunity on his horizon is 50 pounds of his brother’s high-grade marijuana, which needs to be driven from Colorado to Houston and exchanged for a lockbox full of cash. Gritton’s portrait of a hapless aspirant at odds with himself and everyone around him is both tender and ruthless, and Wyoming considers the possibility of redemption in a…

Comments closed

Donnie Horn in Conversation With Darcelle

Donnie Horn’s Darcelle: Looking From My Mirror (Donald L. Horn) tells the complete story of Walter W. Cole, aka Darcelle – Guinness World Record holder for oldest drag queen performer. Horn’s The Many Shades of Darcelle: 50 Years of Fashion 1969 Until Present documents Cole’s life as Darcelle, as well as his purchase of Portland’s Demas Tavern and its transformation into Darcelle XV Showplace. Horn will be joined in conversation by Walter W. Cole.

Comments closed

Colum McCann in Conversation With Ronan McCann

In his daring, symphonic new novel, Colum McCann, National Book Award-winning author of Let the Great World Spin, tells an epic story rooted in the real-life friendship between two men united by loss. McCann crafts Apeirogon (Random House) out of a universe of fictional and nonfictional material crossing centuries and continents, stitching time, art, history, nature, and politics together in a tale both heartbreaking and hopeful. Musical, cinematic, muscular, delicate, and soaring, Apeirogon is a novel for our times. McCann will be joined in conversation by his brother, Ronan McCann.

Comments closed

Emily Strelow in Conversation With Rebecca Clarren

Emily Strelow’s mesmerizing debut stitches together a sprawling saga of the feral Northwest across farmlands and deserts and generations: an American mosaic alive with birdsong and gunsmoke, held together by a silver box of eggshells – a long-ago gift from a mother to her daughter. Written with grace, grit, and an acute knowledge of how the past insists upon itself, The Wild Birds (Rare Bird) is a radiant and human story about the shelters we find and make along our crooked paths home. Strelow will be joined in conversation by Rebecca Clarren, author of Kickdown.

Comments closed

E. Latimer in Conversation With Cat Winters

In E. Latimer’s Witches of Ash and Ruin (Little, Brown), modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods – perfect for fans of V. E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy. With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology that’s impossible to put down. Latimer will be joined in conversation by Cat Winters, author of In the Shadow of Blackbirds and The Raven’s Tale.

Comments closed

Erin Khar in Conversation With Rene Denfeld

Erin Khar’s Strung Out: One Last Hit and Other Lies That Nearly Killed Me (Park Row) is a personal, illuminating look at the opioid crisis, as lived by one woman and her 15-year struggle with opioids, beginning when she was 13 and ending with motherhood. An urgent and empathetic take, Strung Out is a necessary memoir of addiction, recovery, and the lifesaving power of love. Khar will be joined in conversation by Rene Denfeld, author of The Butterfly Girl.

Comments closed

Courtney Maum in Conversation With Kimberly King Parsons

It is 1937, and Europe is on the brink of war. Hitler is circulating a most-wanted list of “cultural degenerates.” To prevent the destruction of her favorite art (and artists), impetuous American heiress and art collector Leonora Calaway begins chartering boats and planes for an elite group of surrealists to Costalegre, a mysterious resort in the Mexican jungle. The story of what happens to these artists when they reach their destination is told from the point of view of Lara, Leonora’s neglected 15-year-old daughter. Heartbreaking and strange, Courtney Maum’s Costalegre (Tin House) is inspired by the real-life relationship between the heiress Peggy Guggenheim and her daughter, Pegeen. Maum will be joined in conversation by Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light.

Comments closed

Sierra Crane Murdoch in Conversation With Rebecca Clarren

When Lissa Yellow Bird was released from prison in 2009, she found her home, the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation in North Dakota, transformed by the Bakken oil boom. The landscape had been altered beyond recognition, her tribal government swayed by corporate interests, and her community burdened by a surge in violence and addiction. Three years later, when Lissa learned that a young white oil worker, Kristopher ‘KC’ Clarke, had disappeared from his reservation worksite, she became particularly concerned. Unfolding like a gritty mystery, Sierra Crane Murdoch’s Yellow Bird (Random House) traces Lissa’s steps as she obsessively hunts for clues to Clarke’s disappearance. Crane Murdoch will be joined in conversation by Rebecca Clarren, author of Kickdown.

Comments closed

Jenny Offill in Conversation With Claire Vaye Watkins

Lizzie Benson slid into her job as a librarian without a degree, but this gives her a vantage point from which to practice her other calling: she is a fake shrink. For years she has tended to her God-haunted mother and her recovering addict brother. They have both stabilized for the moment, but soon Lizzie’s old mentor makes a proposal. She’s become famous for her podcast, Hell and High Water, and wants to hire Lizzie to answer the mail she receives: from left-wingers worried about climate change and right-wingers worried about the decline of western civilization. From Jenny Offill, author of Dept. of Speculation, comes Weather (Knopf), a shimmering tour de force about a family, and a nation, in crisis. Offill will be joined in…

Comments closed