Skip to content →

Tag: powell’s books at cedar hills crossing

Charles Finch

London, 1855. A young and eager Charles Lenox faces his toughest case yet: a murder without a single clue. Slumped in a third-class car at Paddington Station is the body of a handsome young gentleman. He has no luggage, empty pockets, and no sign of identification on his person. Written in Charles Finch’s unmistakably witty and graceful voice, The Last Passenger (Minotaur) is a cunning, thrilling, and deeply satisfying conclusion to this trilogy of prequels to his Charles Lenox series.

Comments closed

Classics Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss La Princesse de Clèves by Madame de La Fayette. Join us!

Comments closed

Chana Porter

A blend of searing social commentary and speculative fiction, Chana Porter’s The Seep (Soho) explores a world in the wake of a benign alien invasion. Trina FastHorse Goldberg-Oneka is a 50-year-old trans woman whose life is irreversibly altered in the wake of a gentle – but nonetheless world-changing – invasion by an alien entity called The Seep. A strange new elegy of love and loss, The Seep explores grief, alienation, and the ache of moving on.

Comments closed

Catana Comics

From Catana Chetwynd, author of the bestselling Little Moments of Love, comes Snug (Andrews McMeel), a collection of comics that perfectly captures the honest, playful, and relatable snapshots of romantic life. Chetwynd’s new book has the same charming and inviting style as her first and includes 50 percent new, never-before-shared comics. Snug is a celebration of the quirks and peculiarities of every one of us – and the magic that happens when we find our matching puzzle piece. Chetwynd will be joined at the event by her fiancé, John Freed, the daily inspiration for her drawings.

Comments closed

Westside Writing Group

A group for anyone writing nonfiction or memoir who would like company, support, and, most of all, accountability. Whether you’ve never written a word or you’re a published author, join us!

Comments closed

You’re Not Listening: What You’re Missing and Why It Matters

For readers of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Charles Duhigg’s The Power of Habit, You’re Not Listening (Celadon) is an eye-opening wake-up call by New York Times reporter Kate Murphy, drawing attention to the worldwide epidemic of not listening – exposing the profound impact that it is having on us all and showing what we can do about it. Murphy will be joined by Kathryn Zerbe, OHSU professor of psychology, for a conversation moderated by Megan Labrise, editor-at-large of Kirkus Reviews.

Comments closed

Jim Ottaviani

America may have put the first man on the moon, but it was the Soviet space program that made Valentina Tereshkova the first woman in space. Meanwhile, in the United States, NASA’s first female astronauts were racing toward milestones of their own. In Astronauts: Women on the Final Frontier (First Second), a nonfiction graphic novel for young readers, Jim Ottaviani (and illustrator Maris Wicks) capture the drive of Mary Cleve, Valentina Tereshkova, and the first women in space.

Comments closed

What’s Your Pronoun?: Beyond He and She

Like trigger warnings and gender-neutral bathrooms, pronouns are sparking a national debate, prompting new policies in schools, workplaces, even prisons, about what pronouns to use. Far more than a by-product of the culture wars, gender-neutral pronouns are nothing new. Based on linguist Dennis Baron’s own empirical research, What’s Your Pronoun? (Liveright) chronicles the story of the role pronouns have played – and continue to play – in establishing both our rights and our identities.

Comments closed

Deadly Diversions Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss Dennis Lehane’s Kenzie and Gennaro series. Join us!

Comments closed

Kate Messner

Kate Messner blends a hijinks-filled mystery with the timely #MeToo movement in a heartfelt new novel for young readers, Chirp (Bloomsbury). When Mia moves to Vermont the summer after seventh grade, she’s recovering from the broken arm she got falling off a balance beam. Mia’s change in scenery brings day camps, new friends, and time with her beloved grandmother. But Gram is convinced someone is out to destroy her cricket farm. In a story rich with friendship, science, and summer fun, a girl finds her voice while navigating the joys and challenges of growing up.

Comments closed