Skip to content →

Tag: powell’s

Powell’s Books Presents Rebecca Solnit in Conversation With Cheryl Strayed – SOLD OUT

This Event is All Ages and Reserved Seating. ALL SALES ARE FINAL. PLEASE, DOUBLE CHECK YOUR ORDER BEFORE PURCHASING. NO REFUNDS. TO ACCESS PRESALE TICKETS, CLICK ON “TICKETS” AND ENTER THE PASSWORD ON “ENTER PROMO CODE” An Evening With the Author of Men Explain Things to Me Renowned feminist writer Rebecca Solnit has been writing important, acclaimed, prize-winning books for years. Her 2014 essay collection, Men Explain Things to Me, won her an ardent readership among a new generation of young women readers who found a welcome touchstone in Solnit’s articulation of the female experience. Solnit’s new memoir, Recollections of My Nonexistence, offers an electric portrait of the artist as a young woman — and asks how a writer finds her voice in a society…

Comments closed

Cancelled – We Keep Us Safe: Building Secure, Just, and Inclusive Communities

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] As the effects of aggressive policing and mass incarceration harm historically marginalized communities and tear families apart, how do we define safety? In We Keep Us Safe (Beacon), community leader and lawyer Zach Norris lays out a radical…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Ramiza Shamoun Koya

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] Ramiza Shamoun Koya reveals the devastating cost of anti-Muslim sentiment in The Royal Abduls (Forest Avenue), her debut novel. Evolutionary biologist Amina Abdul accepts a post-doc in Washington, DC, choosing her career studying hybrid zones over a faltering…

Comments closed

Cancelled – The League of Exceptional Writers

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] In “Crafting Awesome: The Art of Character Creation,” author and illustrator Brian W. Parker explains his process for creating powerful, diverse, and interesting characters through illustration and world-building. Hosted by Rosanne Parry, the League of Exceptional Writers is…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Jody J. Little

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] Hoping to ditch two months of chicken coops, kale, and her parents’ anti-screen rules, Mac sets out to win a citywide food cart scavenger hunt and the money she needs for the summer coding camp of her dreams.…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Emily Beyda

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] A strange man discovers our nameless narrator selling popcorn at a small-town movie theater and offers her an odd and lucrative position: she will forget her job, her acquaintances, even her name, and move to Los Angeles, where…

Comments closed

Cancelled – Sarah Kozloff

[From Powell’s website: Powell’s Books Suspends Event Programming Through April 2020 Following Governor Kate Brown’s announcement of new rules to slow the spread of COVID-19 and our own commitment to ensure the safety of our employees and customers, Powell’s is cancelling all author events, book clubs, and other scheduled gatherings at each of our store locations through the end of April 2020. Please check back here for updates, and thank you for your patience as we continue to adjust our plans as national and local events unfold.] Debut author Sarah Kozloff offers a breathtaking and cinematic epic fantasy in the vein of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Erika Johansen’s The Queen of the Tearling. Orphaned, exiled, and hunted, Cerulia, Princess of Weirandale, must master the magic…

Comments closed

JP Gritton in Conversation With Mat Johnson

A cross between Daniel Woodrell and Annie Proulx, JP Gritton’s Wyoming (Tin House) is about the stubborn grip of inertia and whether or not it is possible to live without accepting oneself. It’s 1988 and Shelley Cooper is in trouble. He’s broke, he’s been fired from his construction job, and his ex-wife has left him for their next-door neighbor and a new life in Kansas City. The only opportunity on his horizon is 50 pounds of his brother’s high-grade marijuana, which needs to be driven from Colorado to Houston and exchanged for a lockbox full of cash. Gritton’s portrait of a hapless aspirant at odds with himself and everyone around him is both tender and ruthless, and Wyoming considers the possibility of redemption in a…

Comments closed

Well-Read Black Girl Book Club

Black women and Black nonbinary people are invited to join us every second Thursday of the month for the Well-Read Black Girl Book Club. This month we’re reading I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

Comments closed

Deadly Diversions Book Group

This month our group meets to discuss Ngaio Marsh’s Inspector Alleyn mystery series. Join us!

Comments closed