Skip to content →

Tag: true crime

Killer Book Club (REMOTE)

Join us for Killer Book Club. This book club features all things murder in fiction and nonfiction including mysteries, thrillers, horror, true crime and more. We will meet second Thursdays. Our November meeting of the Killer Book Club will be on November 11th at 6:30pm. We will discuss Bind, Torture, Kill : The Inside Story of BTK, the Serial Killer Next Door by Roy Wenzl, Tim Potter, and Hurst Laviana, L. Kelly About the Book: The definitive story of Dennis Rader, the notorious BTK serial killer, told by the award-winning crime reporters at the Wichita Eagle with—for the first time—the full cooperation of the BTK Task Force. For thirty-one years, an unremarkable family man stalked, killed, and terroized the residents of Wichita, Kansas. He was a devoted husband. A helpful Boy Scout dad. A…

Comments closed

Friends of Mystery Presents: Tracy Clark, Mary Keliikoa, and Elle Marr

Please join us to kick off the first Bloody Thursday of our 2021/22 season with writers Tracy Clark, Mary Keliikoa, and Elle Marr! Our virtual door will open at 6:30 for general chat, with the moderated discussion starting at 7 PM. We will send out a Zoom link on the day of the event. About the Speakers: Tracy Clark, a native Chicagoan, is the author of the Cass Raines Chicago Mystery series, featuring ex-cop turned PaI Cassandra Raines. Her debut, BROKEN PLACES, made Library Journal’s list of the Best Crime Fiction of 2018 and CrimeReads named Cass Raines Best New PI of 2018. The novel was nominated for a Lefty Award for Best Debut Novel, an Anthony Award for Best Debut Novel and a Shamus…

Comments closed

Books Around the Corner: True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. This month’s pick is Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer. Missoula, Montana, is a typical college town, home to a highly regarded state university whose beloved football team inspires a passionately loyal fan base. Between January 2008 and May 2012, hundreds of students reported sexual assaults to the local police. Few of the cases were properly handled by either the university or local authorities. In this, Missoula is also typical. In these pages, acclaimed journalist Jon Krakauer investigates a spate of campus rapes that occurred in Missoula over a…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Join us on Wednesday March 17th at 6:30pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick is The Cold Vanish by Jon Billman. For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman’s fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished without a trace incidences, which…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. This month’s pick is We Keep the Dead Close by Becky Cooper. Dive into a “tour de force of investigative reporting” (Ron Chernow): a “searching, atmospheric and ultimately entrancing” (Patrick Radden Keefe) true crime narrative of an unsolved 1969 murder at Harvard and an “exhilarating and seductive” (Ariel Levy) narrative of obsession and love for a girl who dreamt of rising among men. You have to remember, he reminded me, that Harvard is older than the U.S. government.…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

TO ATTEND: 1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop. If you already own the book you may purchase a gift certificate or sponsor a stack for $15 or $25 dollars depending on if the book club book is paperback or hardcover. 2) Email us after your purchase that you plan on attending and we’ll provide the password. The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Join us on Wednesday January 20th at 6:30pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick is The…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on Wednesday November 18th at 6pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick and the last of 2020 is Furious Hours: Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee by Casey Cep. In Furious Hours, Casey Cep masterfully brings together the tales of a serial killer in 1970s Alabama and…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

Join us on Wednesday October 21st 6pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick is I’ll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara. You’ll be silent forever, and I’ll be gone in the dark. For more than ten years, a mysterious and violent predator committed fifty sexual assaults in Northern California before moving south, where he perpetrated ten sadistic murders. Then he disappeared, eluding capture by multiple police forces and some of the best detectives in the area. Three decades later, Michelle McNamara, a true-crime journalist who created the popular website TrueCrimeDiary.com, was determined to find the violent psychopath she called “the Golden State Killer.” Michelle pored over police reports, interviewed victims, and embedded herself in the online communities that were as obsessed…

Comments closed

True Crime Book Club (Remote)

The True Crime Book Club is led by the true crime aficionado Rachel Newton Cumley. We would like to extend an invitation to all of our true crime enthusiasts. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. Come and enjoy a lively discussion about the chosen book with other readers. Join us on Wednesday September 16th 6pm for True Crime Book Club. This month’s pick is The Killer Across the Table by John Douglas. The legendary FBI criminal profiler, number-one New York Times bestselling author, and inspiration for the hit Netflix show Mindhunter delves deep into the lives and crimes of four of the…

Comments closed

Jessica Garrison & Sarah Weinman

On the surface, 58-year-old Jose Martinez didn’t seem evil or even that remarkable — just a regular neighbor, good with cars and devoted to his family. But in between taking his children to Disneyland and visiting his mom, Martinez was also one of the most skilled professional killers police had ever seen. A page-turning, suspenseful story of a drug cartel hit man who got away with murder after murder in California’s Central Valley for three decades, award-winning reporter Jessica Garrison’s The Devil’s Harvest (Hachette) reveals how the criminal justice system fails our most vulnerable immigrant communities. The appeal of true-crime stories has never been higher. With podcasts like My Favorite Murder and In the Dark, bestsellers like I’ll Be Gone in the Dark and Furious…

Comments closed