Skip to content →

Tag: two rivers book club

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club September

September Selection: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9780525620808 “Creepy and romantic, Mexican Gothic is easily one of my favorite books of 2020! Upon receiving a strange letter from her cousin, Noemi Taboada goes to investigate the happenings of High Place, a decaying manor filled with secrets, and is plagued by terrifying dreams and visions. Moreno-Garcia delivers a fresh take on a classic gothic novel that will grab your attention from the very first chapter!” — Tyrinne Lewis, Rakestraw Books, Danville, CA Check your email for the Zoom link!

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club July

For July we will be reading A Gypsy’s Book of Revelation by Cécile Barlier https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9781888996876 “A Gypsy’s Book of Revelation is a collection of stories with an astonishing range of styles and subject matters. A woman visits her cremation from inside the body of her dead self, a competitive couple trains as free-divers, a mother leaves her son behind on top of a mountain, a very pregnant woman experiences a peculiar relationship with a priest-to-be: these stories are full of surprising experimentation that strikes a deeply compelling balance between the real and the bizarre. Embodying unusual premises and worlds, these stories are also fearlessly nontraditional in their structure and approach. These voices haunt, tease, and dare while never providing fully fledged answers. Each story is…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club June

For June we will be reading What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9780679723059 In his second collection, including the iconic and much-referenced title story featured in the Academy Award-winning film Birdman, Carver establishes his reputation as one of the most celebrated short-story writers in American literature—a haunting meditation on love, loss, and companionship, and finding one’s way through the dark. Check your email for the Zoom link!

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club February

For February we will be discussing In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado. https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9781644450383 A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties. In the Dream House is Carmen Maria Machado’s engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms and cultural representations of psychological abuse. Tracing the full arc of a harrowing relationship with a charismatic but volatile woman, Machado struggles to make sense of how what happened to her shaped the person she was becoming. And it’s that struggle that gives the book its original structure: each chapter is driven by its own narrative trope—the haunted house, erotica, the bildungsroman—through which Machado holds the events up to…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club January

Who is ready to kick 2020 to the curb? We are! January 2021 is a special edition of Book Club, a year-end BYOB (Bring Your Own Book) Reading Roundup where we invite you to bring a favorite book that you read this year, any genre! Each participant will get a chance to talk about their selection. In addition to bringing a book that you loved, you are also welcome to bring a book that you hated! That should make for some fun discussion. Check your email for the Zoom link!

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club November

For November, we will be reading La Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver Here’s the link to purchase: https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9780060852580 Description: “Moving from a setting in Mexico (in the company of Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera, and Trotsky) to the 1950s America of Red Scares and McCarthyism, The Lacuna tells the very personal and human story of young novelist Harrison Shepherd. Kingsolver does a masterful job creating a story with both scope and intimacy while also raising potent questions about freedom of expression and belief. Bravo!” — Sheryl Cotleur, Book Passage, Corte Madera, CA The event will be held on Zoom. To get your name added to the email list for the book club, email christine@tworiversbooks.com

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club October

For October, we will be reading 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton To order: https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9781492670124?fbclid=IwAR1mHmnMNUY28szjPc-FTjEQYFTziCCtBb2CTUK9AGcCw6QNU8ubNCbAPsM Description: “Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense. For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 71/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club September

For September, we will be reading a book from local publisher Tin House, Who Is Vera Kelly by Rosalie Knecht. To order: https://www.tworiversbooks.com/book/9781947793019?fbclid=IwAR2E1vek7hhDMNmvvXIOiN0BkUIlJQJuotrkbUEOHIlL-4iefHnmyA3jsn0 Description: New York City, 1962. Vera Kelly is struggling to make rent and blend into the underground gay scene in Greenwich Village. She’s working night shifts at a radio station when her quick wits, sharp tongue, and technical skills get her noticed by a recruiter for the CIA. Next thing she knows she’s in Argentina, tasked with wiretapping a congressman and infiltrating a group of student activists in Buenos Aires. As Vera becomes more and more enmeshed with the young radicals, the fragile local government begins to split at the seams. When a betrayal leaves her stranded in the wake of a…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club August

August is a special edition of Book Club, a Summer Reading Roundup where we invite you to bring a favorite book that you read this summer, any genre! Each participant will get a chance to talk about their selection. In addition to bringing a book that you loved, you are also welcome to bring a book that you hated! That should make for some fun discussion. To order: https://www.tworiversbooks.com/ Liz Smith is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting. Topic: Two Rivers Book Club August Time: Aug 25, 2020 06:30 PM Pacific Time (US and Canada) Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82860767766?pwd=SXV6bmNPZURLWjFOKzZKYXZXa2lFdz09 Meeting ID: 828 6076 7766 Passcode: 408015 One tap mobile +12532158782,,82860767766#,,,,,,0#,,408015# US (Tacoma) +13462487799,,82860767766#,,,,,,0#,,408015# US (Houston) Dial by your location +1 253 215 8782 US…

Comments closed

Two Rivers Virtual Book Club July

July’s pick is The Yellow House by Sarah M. Broom A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSLLER Winner of the 2019 National Book Award in Nonfiction A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East. In 1961, Sarah M. Broom’s mother Ivory Mae bought a shotgun house in the then-promising neighborhood of New Orleans East and built her world inside of it. It was the height of the Space Race and the neighborhood was home to a major NASA plant–the postwar optimism seemed assured. Widowed, Ivory Mae remarried Sarah’s father Simon Broom; their combined family would eventually number twelve children. But after Simon died, six months after Sarah’s…

Comments closed