Skip to content →

Tag: young adult

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

We will discuss Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore. About the Book: For the past five years, Bitterblue has reigned as Queen of Monsea, heroically rebuilding her nation after her father’s horrific rule. After learning about the land of Torla in the east, she sends envoys to the closest nation there: Winterkeep–a place where telepathic foxes bond with humans, and people fly across the sky in wondrous airships. But when the envoys never return, having drowned under suspicious circumstances, Bitterblue sets off for Winterkeep herself, along with her spy Hava and her trusted colleague Giddon. On the way, tragedy strikes again–a tragedy with devastating political and personal ramifications. Meanwhile, in Winterkeep, Lovisa Cavenda waits and watches, a fire inside her that is always hungry. The teenage daughter…

Comments closed

Deadline: Special Award Nominations Due

As part of the Oregon Book Awards, Literary Arts offers three awards that recognize significant contributions to Oregon’s literary culture: The Charles Erskine Scott Wood Distinguished Writer Award is presented to an Oregon author in recognition of an enduring, substantial literary career. Past recipients include George Hitchcock, Ken Kesey, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Barry Lopez. The Stewart H. Holbrook Literary Legacy Award is presented to a person or organization in recognition of significant contributions that have enriched Oregon’s literary community. Past recipients include José González, Kim Stafford, Barbara LaMorticella, David Milholland, Marlene Howard, and John Laursen. The Walt Morey Young Readers Literary Legacy Award is presented to a person or organization in recognition of significant contributions that have enriched Oregon’s young readers. Past recipients…

Comments closed

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

TO ATTEND: 1) Purchase the book club book to support our shop. If you already own the book you may purchase a gift certificate or sponsor a stack for $15 or $25 dollars depending on if the book club book is paperback or hardcover. 2) Email us after your purchase that you plan on attending and we’ll provide the password. Join us on January 26th at 6:30pm for our next Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss The Shadow Between Us by Tricia Levenseller. About the Book: “They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart. And they never will.” Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power: 1) Woo the Shadow King.…

Comments closed

Hugo Moreno and Guadalupe García McCall

Join us for a reading with two Oregon authors. Hugo Moreno, professor at Lewis & Clark college, will be reading from his new novel, Where The North Ends (Donde se acaba el Norte), and will be joined by Guadalupe García McCall, author of several books for young adult readers. Presented in partnership with Reed College and Lewis & Clark College. This event will take place on Zoom. Register in advance for this event: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUtdOGpqzwoGNMGCwzVcC6cwQlo8SZZqePL Hugo Moreno was born in New Mexico and grew up in the Juárez/El Paso border area. He obtained his Ph.D. in Hispanic Studies at Cornell University, and has been a faculty member at the University of Michigan, Western University (Canada), Reed College, and Lewis & Clark College, where he currently teaches.…

Comments closed

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

Join us on November 24th at 6pm for our next Young Adult Book Club. This will be the last one of 2020! We will discuss The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix. About the Book: A girl’s quest to find her father leads her to an extended family of magical fighting booksellers who police the mythical Old World of England when it intrudes on the modern world. From the bestselling master of teen fantasy, Garth Nix. In a slightly alternate London in 1983, Susan Arkshaw is looking for her father, a man she has never met. Crime boss Frank Thringley might be able to help her, but Susan doesn’t get time to ask Frank any questions before he is turned to dust by the…

Comments closed

Author Reading: Fall of Night by D. K. Stone

Join us for an evening of reading and lively conversation with mystery & YA author D. K. Stone, celebrating the release of the final book in her Waterton Mystery Series! About the Waterton Mystery Series Set in Waterton, AB – a small town in the heart of Waterton National Park, Canada – D. K. Stone’s Waterton Mystery Series follows New York City Hotel Manager Rich Evans on a journey from outsider to lover of this place that lags just out of step with modern times. In Fall of Night, the third and final book, Rich Evans is desperate to say goodbye to his past in New York and embrace a future in Waterton with Lou Newman, the small-town car mechanic who is also the love…

Comments closed

Oregon Literary Fellowships Application Deadline

Oregon Literary Fellowships are intended to help Oregon writers initiate, develop, or complete literary projects in poetry, fiction, literary nonfiction, drama (including scripts for television and film), and young readers literature. Read the guidelines and apply.

Comments closed

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

Join us on October 27th at 6pm for our next Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis. About the Book: A can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Things I know about Harrow Lake: 1.It’s where my father shot his most disturbing slasher film. 2.There’s something not right about this town. Lola Nox is the daughter of a celebrated horror filmmaker–she thinks nothing can scare her. But when her father is brutally attacked in their New York apartment, she’s quickly packed off to live with a grandmother she’s never met in Harrow Lake, the eerie town where her father’s most iconic horror movie was shot. The…

Comments closed

Oregon Book Awards Submission Deadline

The finalists for the 2021 Oregon Book Awards will be announced by March 2021, and the winners will be announced at the Oregon Book Awards Ceremony to be held in May 2021. Work may be submitted by the author, publisher, producer, or any member of the public. Eligibile titles will have an original publication date between September 1, 2019 and August 31, 2020. Guidelines and application form here

Comments closed

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

The Young Adult Book Club meets the last Tuesdays of every month at 6pm. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. You don’t have to RSVP, just come and enjoy a lively discussion. We welcome both teens and adults to join this book club! Join us on September 29th for our next Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver. About the Book: Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver’s stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.…

Comments closed