Skip to content →

Tag: young adult

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

The Young Adult Book Club meets the last Tuesdays of every month at 6pm. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. You don’t have to RSVP, just come and enjoy a lively discussion. We welcome both teens and adults to join this book club! Join us on September 29th for our next Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver. About the Book: Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver’s stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.…

Comments closed

Kim Johnson & Ibi Zoboi

Every week, 17-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time — her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town’s racist history that still haunt the present? Kim Johnson’s This Is My America (Random House)…

Comments closed

Jordan Ifueko in Conversation With Bethany C. Morrow

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy? Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as The Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of 11. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But The Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: Kill…

Comments closed

Aiden Thomas in Conversation With Adam Silvera

In Aiden Thomas’s #OwnVoices LGBT paranormal YA novel, Cemetery Boys (Swoon Reads), a trans boy determined to prove his gender to his family summons a ghost who refuses to leave. Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can’t get rid of him. When his traditional Latinx family has problems accepting his true gender, Yadriel becomes determined to prove himself a real brujo. With the help of his cousin and best friend, Maritza, he performs the ritual himself, and then sets out to find the ghost of his murdered cousin and set it free. However, the ghost he summons is actually Julian Diaz, the school’s resident bad boy, and Julian is not about to go quietly into death. He’s determined to find out what happened…

Comments closed

April Henry, June Hur, L.E. Flynn in Conversation With Miranda Doyle

When Savannah disappears soon after arguing with her mom’s boyfriend, everyone assumes she’s run away. The truth is much worse. She’s been kidnapped by a man in a white van who locks her in an old trailer home, far from prying eyes. Master mystery writer April Henry weaves another heart-stopping YA thriller with The Girl in the White Van (Henry Holt). Set in Joseon Dynasty-era Korea, June Hur’s evocative YA debut, The Silence of Bones (Feiwel & Friends), follows a 16-year-old indentured servant within the police bureau who becomes entangled in the politically charged investigation into the murder of a noblewoman. Seventeen-year-old Tabby went into the woods with her boyfriend, but she came out alone. Originally praised as a survivor, Tabby is now widely suspected…

Comments closed

Ariel Kusby in Conversation With Pam Grossman

Ariel Kusby’s The Little Witch’s Book of Spells (Chronicle) is an enchanting compendium of spells, potions, and activities for kids 8 to 12 years old. Young witches-in-training will discover spells to resolve problems, foster friendship, and engage with the natural world. Kusby’s spellbinding book guides readers on how to craft a magic wand, befriend a fairy, and read tea leaves, as well as glossaries of magical terms and symbols. The Little Witch’s Book of Spells harnesses magic and the imagination to help little witches feel powerful, tap into creative energy, and practice self-love. Spells and activities include Best Friends Forever Spell, Jump Rope Protection Spell, Get Well Soon Elixir, Blanket Fort Magical Fortress Spell, How to Make a Magical Fairy Garden, and Mermaid Bath Spell.…

Comments closed

Annie Bloom’s Books: Independent Bookstore Day 2020

Independent Bookstore Day is going online for 2020. Check out this amazing schedule of livestream events! GOLDFISH GHOST drawing class with LISA BROWN Join us for a fun and interactive drawing demonstration with illustrator and author Lisa Brown. Her books include GOLDFISH GHOST, THE AIRPORT BOOK, THE PHANTOM TWIN, MUMMY CAT, LONG STORY SHORT and others. Join here at 10am on 8/29: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83926414626?pwd=UjFrenFzREVRS0ZlOVZMcURMald0Zz09 Middle Grade Fun with RENEE WATSON and illustrator NINA MATA with moderator ISAAC FITZGERALD Join RENEE WATSON (WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE), illustrator NINA MATA (I PROMISE), and moderator ISAAC FITZGERALD (HOW TO BE A PIRATE). Join here at 11am on 8/29: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88670459576?pwd=R1A5cEQwZU81UUNGMndQNXBLWCtKdz09 World-Building in YA Feminist Fantasy Fiction Join bestselling YA fantasy authors KAT CHO (WICKED FOX and VICIOUS SPIRITS), RENA BARRON…

Comments closed

Livestream: Kim Johnson: This Is My America

Annie Bloom’s welcomes debut author and University of Oregon administrator Kim Johnson, who will read from her young adult novel, This Is My America. Livestream registration link: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/kim-johnson-this-is-my The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting first novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system. Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time–her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white…

Comments closed

Livestream: How to Get Young People Involved in Activism

This virtual book event is a fundraiser for Sister District PDX. Award-winning author Elizabeth Rusch will offer surprising insights from her new book for adults and young adults, You Call This Democracy?: How to Fix Our Government and Deliver Power to the People, which the New York Times called “fascinating” and Kirkus called “a riveting must-read.” In addition to explaining why we’ll continue to fail to address challenges we face in this country until we fix our democracy, Rusch will share insights on how to reach and rally young people. Zoom registration link Hardback, paperback, and e-book editions of You Call This Democracy? are available to purchase below. The audiobook is available at our Kobo page, here: https://libro.fm/audiobooks/9781980079903-you-call-this-democracy?bookstore=annieblooms If you are placing an order in…

Comments closed

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

The Young Adult Book Club meets the last Tuesdays of every month at 6pm. Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. You don’t have to RSVP, just come and enjoy a lively discussion. We welcome both teens and adults to join this book club! Join us for the our first meeting on July 28th of the Young Adult Book Club. We will discuss A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson. About the Book: An addictive, twisty crime thriller about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer–but not everyone wants…

Comments closed