LitPDX seeks to amplify marginalized voices, and welcomes all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Resources for support, protests, and relief funds can be found here and here.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Chelsea Martin in Conversation With Kimberly King Parsons

September 22 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Free
View Venue Website, 1005 W Burnside Street, Portland, OR 97209 + Google Map

“A portrait of the artist as a work-in-progress” (Sharma Shields), Chelsea Martin’s hilarious and incisive coming-of-age novel about an art student from a poor family struggling to find her place in a new social class of rich, well-connected peers is perfect for fans of Elif Batuman’s The Idiot and Weike Wang’s Chemistry. At her San Francisco art school, Joey enrolls in a film elective that requires her to complete what seems like a straightforward assignment: create a self-portrait. Joey inexplicably decides to remake Wes Anderson’s Rushmore despite having never seen the movie. As Martin’s Tell Me I’m An Artist (Soft Skull) unfolds over the course of the semester, the assignment hangs over her as she struggles to exist in a well-heeled world that is hugely different from any she has known. Miles away, Joey’s sister goes missing, leaving her toddler with their mother, who in turn suggests that Joey might be the selfish one for pursuing her dreams. Meanwhile, her only friend at school, the enigmatic Suz, makes meaningful, appealing art, a product of Suz’s own singular drive and talent as well as decades of careful nurturing by wealthy, sophisticated parents. A masterful novel from an author known for her candid and searching prose, Tell Me I’m An Artist examines the invisible divide created by class and privilege, ruminates on the shame that follows choosing a path that has not been laid out for you, and interrogates what makes someone an artist at all. Martin will be joined in conversation by Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light.

Preorder a Signed Edition

Venue

1005 W Burnside Street

Portland, OR 97209
+ Google Map
Phone:
503-228-4651
View Venue Website

Organizer

Phone:
503-228-4651
Website:
View Organizer Website