Update 10: Gary Cole and CoHo Productions are producing a COVID-19 relief fundraiser performance based on his novel Black Box and offering a LITPDX discount on tickets, see the upcoming events from the calendar. Black Feast is offering free Love Letter Care Packages with vegan, gluten-free deserts for Black folks in Portland, which you can RSVP for here or support via steps on their website. A national coalition of arts grantmakers have put together the Artist Relief for artists across mediums facing financial emergencies due to COVID-19. Shade Literary Arts is organizing a fundraiser for a Queer Writers of Color Relief Fund. You can apply for the funding through this survey link.

We stand with Black Lives Matter and those protesting for equality and reform. We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

Prior relief and support funds for small businesses and artists: NACF’s Native Arts Emergency Support Project, Portland Small Business Relief Fund, Portland Area Artist Emergency Relief Fund, RACC’s  Emergency Artist Relief Fund, RACC’s page for relief resources (and updated here), RACC’s COVID-19 relief Support Beam, Literary Arts’ Booth Emergency Fund for Writers, and Oregon Humanities’ emergency funding for organizations.

Gov. Kate Brown’s “stay at home” order still largely remains in effect for Portland area businesses and gatherings (though other counties have some limitations lifted). See also this FAQ from OPB. Until the order is completely lifted for Multnomah county, you can assume all in-person readings and events have been cancelled.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Stephanie Scott in Conversation With Margaret Malone

August 2 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Free
Online, N/A, Portland, OR 97207

A gripping debut set in modern-day Tokyo and inspired by a true crime — for readers of Everything I Never Told You and The Perfect Nanny — Stephanie Scott’s What’s Left of Me Is Yours (Doubleday) charts a young woman’s search for the truth about her mother’s life — and her murder. In Japan, a covert industry has grown up around the wakaresaseya (literally “breaker-upper”), a person hired by one spouse to seduce the other in order to gain the advantage in divorce proceedings. When Satō hires Kaitarō, a wakaresaseya agent, to have an affair with his wife, Rina, he assumes it will be an easy case. But Satō has never truly understood Rina or her desires and Kaitarō’s job is to do exactly that — until he does it too well. While Rina remains ignorant of the circumstances that brought them together, she and Kaitarō fall in a desperate, singular love, setting in motion a series of violent acts that will forever haunt her daughter’s life. Told from alternating points of view and across the breathtaking landscapes of Japan, Scott probes the thorny psychological and moral grounds of the actions we take in the name of love, asking where we draw the line between passion and possession. Scott will be joined in conversation by Margaret Malone, author of the story collection People Like You, finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award and winner of the Balcones Fiction Prize.

Register for the Zoom event  /  Buy the Book

Details

Date:
August 2
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Categories:
,
Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,
Source:
http://www.powells.com/eventsupdate

Venue

Online
N/A
Portland, OR 97207

Organizer

Phone:
503-228-4651
Website:
powells.com/calendar