We are against hate which targets continually marginalized people, no matter if they are Asian, Asian-American, Pacific Islanders, Black, Indigenous, people of color, and LGBTQ+ identifying. We support movements for reform, protest, and equality. A collection of resources and organizations working toward these efforts, and those which offer support, can be found here.

We will continue to amplify marginalized voices, and welcome all, their ideas, their events, and their words. Our words here are not enough, but we wanted to say we support you and will continue to do so through our actions.

An additional list of support and relief funds can be found here.

For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Young Adult Book Club (Remote)

September 29, 2020 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Free
Online, N/A, Portland, OR 97207

The Young Adult Book Club meets the last Tuesdays of every month at 6pm.

Our book discussions aim to bring people together to talk about books in a safe and inviting atmosphere. Our meetings are lovely and inclusive; we invite you to attend. You don’t have to RSVP, just come and enjoy a lively discussion. We welcome both teens and adults to join this book club!

Join us on September 29th for our next Young Adult Book Club.

We will discuss I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver.

About the Book:
Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver’s stunning debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.

Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives. — Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

It’s just three words: I am nonbinary. But that’s all it takes to change everything.

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they’re thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents’ rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school.

But Ben’s attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan’s friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life.

At turns heartbreaking and joyous, I Wish You All the Best is both a celebration of life, friendship, and love, and a shining example of hope in the face of adversity.

Due to the time and effort we put into organizing our book clubs if you choose to purchase the book elsewhere, already own it, or check it out from the library we will now be asking members who do not purchase their books at our shop to pay a $5 fee. Thank you for understanding and supporting us.

REMOTE INSTRUCTIONS

Join online!
https://zoom.us/j/306490858
Meeting ID: 306 490 858

OR

Join by phone
(301) 715-8592

PREVIOUS BOOK CLUB PICKS

Sadie by Courtney Summers
Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons
A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

Venue

Online
N/A
Portland, OR 97207

Organizer

Books Around the Corner
Phone:
503-489-8804
Website:
http://www.booksaroundthecorner.com