For details regarding specific events please contact the organizers or venues. If you are an organizer or venue and would like to reach out to us please feel free to contact us or submit an event using our submission form. We’d love to hear from you!

Loading Events

Events for July 1, 2019

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

8:00 am

The Bertha Vervain Series: Zines & Broadsides by Black [Womxn & Queer] Folks

July 1 @ 8:00 am - 11:59 pm
The Internet, 001 SE Cyberspace Lane
Portland, OR 97201
Free

Presented by Dovesong Labs to submit, email: info@dovesonglabs.net (1) zine or up to (3) poems for Broadside consideration eligibility parameters: BLACK WOMAN / QUEER WRITER 18+ NO FULL-LENGTH PUBLISHED POETRY OR HYBRID PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED WORK OK! DEADLINE: JULY 1ST FINALISTS ANNOUNCED: AUGUST 1ST. email: info@dovesonglabs.net for any questions WINNERS RECEIVE: 50 COPIES OF ZINE OR BROADSIDE HIGH QUALITY PDF/PNF/TIFF OR PRINTS CASH PRIZE ($100 FOR ZINE / $75 FOR BROADSIDE) 1-2 ZINES & 2-3 BROADSIDES WILL BE SELECTED EMAIL: INFO@DOVESONGLABS.NET TO SUBMIT

Find out more »

6:00 pm

Free Range Poetry: Phil Meehan, Penelope Scambly Schott, Betsy Fogelman Tighe

July 1 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Multnomah County Library, 2300 NW Thurman Street
Portland, OR 97210
+ Google Map
Free

Free Range Poetry presents Phil Meehan, Penelope Scambly Schott, Betsy Fogelman Tighe Monday, July 1, 2019 Northwest Library 2300 NW Thurman Street Portland An open mic will precede featured poets. Open mic readers limited to two pages of material. Sign up for open mic at 5:45 pm. Reading 6:00 pm – 7:30 pm. PHIL MEEHAN has worked for 40 years as a chef in the Portland area. He retired in 2015 and spends his time writing, dancing and watching the city change with every season. His chapbook 2016 Beached was based on photographs left by his uncle. It celebrates life on the Oregon Coast during the 1910’s. PENELOPE SCAMBLY SCHOTT’S most recent book is November Quilt. She is known to hang out on the east…

Find out more »

7:00 pm

The Moth: StorySLAM: Bold

July 1 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
The Secret Society, 116 NE Russell St
Portland, OR 97212
+ Google Map
$15

BOLD: Prepare a five-minute story about living out loud, rising to the occasion and undertaking the adventure that has always been a dream. Your last big statement, that moment you did not back down where your courage and flair surprised you. Mixing stripes with polka dots (that statement scarf), being the first to say "I love you" or asking for that raise. Why fit in when you were born to stand out? This venue is 21+. *Tickets for this event are available one week before the show, at 12pm PT / 3pm ET. *Seating is not guaranteed and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Please be sure to arrive at least 10 minutes before the show. Admission is not guaranteed for late arrivals. All sales…

Find out more »

Lauren Kate

July 1 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Powell’s Books at Cedar Hills Crossing, 3415 SW Cedar Hills Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97005
+ Google Map
Free

The Orphan’s Song (G. P. Putnam’s Sons) is the adult debut novel by author Lauren Kate (the Fallen series), a sweeping love story about family and music — and the secrets each hold — that follows the intertwined fates of two Venetian orphans. Venice, 1736. When fate brings Violetta and Mino together on the roof of the Hospital of the Incurables, they form a connection that will change their lives forever. Both are orphans at the Incurables, dreaming of escape. But when the resident Maestro notices Violetta’s voice, she is selected for the Incurables’ world-famous coro, and must sign an oath never to sing beyond its church doors. After a declaration of love ends in heartbreak, Mino flees the Incurables in search of his family.…

Find out more »

Reading: Heidi Diehl: Lifelines

July 1 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Annie Bloom’s Books, 7834 SW Capitol Hwy
Portland, OR 97219
+ Google Map
Free

Annie Bloom's welcomes Brooklyn, New York, author Heidi Diehl to read from her novel Lifelines. She'll be joined in conversation with Portland author Sara Jaffe (Dryland). For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Maggie Shipstead: a sweeping debut novel following an American artist who returns to Germany—where she fell in love and had a child decades earlier—to confront her past at her former mother-in-law’s funeral. It’s 1971 when Louise leaves Oregon for Düsseldorf, a city grappling with its nation’s horrific recent history, to study art. Soon she’s embroiled in a scene dramatically different from the one at home, thanks in large part to Dieter, a mercurial musician. Their romance ignites quickly, but life gets in the way: an unplanned pregnancy, hasty marriage, the tense balance of…

Find out more »

7:30 pm

Joshua A. Douglas

July 1 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Powell’s City of Books, 1005 W Burnside Street
Portland, OR 97209
+ Google Map
Free

In contrast to the anxiety surrounding our voting system, with stories about voter suppression and manipulation, there are actually quite a few positive initiatives toward voting rights reform. Professor Joshua A. Douglas, an expert on our electoral system, examines these encouraging developments in his inspiring new book about how regular Americans are working to take back their democracy, one community at a time. Told through the narratives of those working on positive voting rights reforms, Vote for US (Prometheus) includes chapters on expanding voter eligibility, easing voter registration rules, making voting more convenient, enhancing accessibility at the polls, providing voters with more choices, finding ways to comply with voter ID rules, giving redistricting back to the voters, pushing back on big money through local and…

Find out more »

Translators Bruce Fulton & Ju-Chan Fulton

July 1 @ 7:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Powell’s Books on Hawthorne, 3723 SE Hawthorne Blvd
Portland, OR 97214
+ Google Map
Free

In this shocking English debut, Mina (Two Lines), award-winning Korean author Kim Sagwa delivers an astonishingly complex portrait of modern-day adolescence. With pitch-perfect dialogue and a precise eye for detail, Kim creates a piercingly real teen protagonist — at once powerful, vulnerable, and utterly confused. As one bad decision leads to another, this promising life spirals to a devastating climax. Crystal toils day and night to earn top grades at her cram school. She’s also endlessly texting, shopping, drinking, vexing her boyfriends, cranking up her mp3s, and fantasizing about her next slice of cheesecake. Her nonstop frenzy never quite manages the one thing that might calm her down: opening up about the pressures that are driving her to the edge. She certainly hasn’t talked with…

Find out more »
+ Export Events